Via WikiCommons
 

Instagram to Introduce 60 Second Videos

Posted March 31, 2016
Share To
 
 

Instagram, the popular photo and video sharing app and site, announced this week that it will be extending the limit on video length to 1 minute in the coming months.  As video becomes the lingua franca of the web, sites like instagram and others must cater to a new video first outlook.  After all: if a picture is worth a thousand words, how many is a video worth?

From Instagram:

We want to bring you fun, flexible and creative ways to create and watch video on Instagram. As part of our continued commitment, you’ll soon have the flexibility to tell your story in up to 60 seconds of video. This is one step of many you’ll see this year.

In the last six months, the time people spent watching video increased by more than 40 percent. And longer videos mean more diverse stories from the accounts you love, whether it’s Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) hanging out with friends or beauty star Bretman Rock’s (@bretmanrock) latest makeup tutorial.

For iOS, we’re also bringing back the ability to make videos out of multiple clips from your camera roll. To learn more about multi-clip video on iOS, check out the Instagram Help Center.

Longer video on Instagram begins rolling out today and will be available for everyone in the coming months. Multi-clip video is available this week as part of Instagram for iOS version 7.19 in Apple’s App Store.

In order of appearance, the video above features Frankie Grande (@frankiejgrande), Nastasya Samburskaya (@samburskaya), Jack Johnson (@jackjackjohnson), Danny Edge (@dannyjedge), Bretman Rock (@bretmanrock), Alx James (@alxjames), Vinny Balbo (@vinnybalbo), Summerella (@_summerella_), Keraun Harris (@kingkeraun), Michael Chenlo (@michenlo), Stephanie Kurlow (@stephaniekurlow), Kai Lightner (@kailightner), Zach King (@zachking), Manon Mathews (@manonmathews), Gabriel Conte (@thegabrielconte), Simone Shepherd (@simoneshepherd), BigNik (@realbignik), Brennen Taylor (@brennen), DeStorm Power (@destorm), Gigi Crouch (@scolerina9247).

 


Recent Posts

Bad News, Good News
June 17, 2024

The old news mantra — if it bleeds, it leads has been replaced by if it’s gross, adios. The prospect of a news-free electorate is terrifying.


The news business is in trouble. In the past decade, more than 2400 local newspapers have closed. NBC Nightly News gets 5 million viewers per night, in a nation of 340 million people, so most people are not watching. What are they watching? Netflix.


For most of human history, people lived in a world without news. The concept simply did not exist. The idea of news is really a 19th-century phenomenon, driven first by newspapers, and then by electronic media which brought us radio, then TV and now the web. Now, it seems, we are headed back to a world without news. Not because the technology is not there, but rather because, increasingly, people are no longer interested in news, at least in the way it is packaged now.


Share Page on: